• $ 9.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

BBC Electric Proms was proud to present a true British legend. Dame Shirley Bassey graced the Roundhouse stage with a unique performance celebrating 50 years at the top of show business. Dame Shirley will be joined on stage by the BBC Concert Orchestra conducted by Mike Dixon, performing some of her most famous tracks alongside new songs from her forthcoming album, 'The Performance'. The show will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 2.

Britain's most successful female artist ever, Dame Shirley Bassey is rightly famous for her commanding renditions of classics Big Spender, Light My Fire and Something. Her Bond themes - Goldfinger, Moonraker and Diamonds Are Forever - are perhaps the finest in the series. This evergreen artist continues to influence a new generation of musicians. In 2007, at Glastonbury festival, Arctic Monkeys paid tribute to the Dame performing a version of Diamonds Are Forever. The same song was reworked by Kanye West for his hit Diamonds From Sierra Leone.

At the Roundhouse, Dame Shirley Bassey was joined by Tom Baxter, Richard Hawley and the Manic Street Preachers' James Dean Bradfield. Dame Shirley treated the Roundhouse to numbers from her much-loved songbook whilst premiering new work. Said the artist, "What I'm most looking forward to at the BBC Electric Proms is performing songs from my new album 'The Performance' for the first time - it really will be a special moment for me." It is worth noting that this was Dame Shirley Bassey's only live show this year. BBC Electric Proms is delighted that she chose to celebrate 50 years of song with this very special intimate concert. (00:55:26)

  • 1. Diamonds Are Forever
  • 2. I'm Still Here
  • 3. Kiss Me Honey Honey
  • 4. Almost There (with Tom Baxter)
  • 5. What Now My Love
  • 6. Big Spender
  • 7. After The Rain (feat. Richard Hawley)
  • 8. Lady Is A Tramp
  • 9. The Performance Of My Life
  • 10. As Long As He Needs Me
  • 11. The Girl From Tiger Bay (with James Dean Bradfield)
  • 12. I Am What I Am
  • 13. Goldfinger